Disability and Society’s Role

Emma's Hope Book

I have to preface this post by saying I’m still grappling with all of this.  I recognize that while I can intellectually understand something, it takes me much longer to completely “get it” to the degree that I can own it and incorporate it into my thinking.   Perhaps this is a specific quirk to my neurology…  Here goes – Yesterday afternoon something came up that I didn’t understand.  It was surrounding the words “disability”, “impairment” and the role society plays.  It was stated that autism is a neurological difference that can create certain impairments.  Impairments that can lead to disability when not accommodated.  I didn’t understand the concept at all.  I couldn’t wrap my mind around society’s role in creating disability by not accommodating.  I need to backtrack here for a second. Stay with me…

My father was in a wheelchair the last decade of his life due to a horseback…

View original post 997 more words

Leave a Reply

