Neither Winning Friends nor Influencing People: Comments on Chick-fil-A and Gay Marriage.

Truth and Tolerance

Well, I cannot start a blog about “thinking with conviction in a polarized world” and then shy away from commenting on a polarizing issue.

Homosexual rights activists have been pushing for a boycott against Chick-fil-A for a few months now because of the political opinions and donations of its owner. Recently, however, the issue has boiled over thanks to comments by the mayors of Chicago and Boston saying that because of those opinions they would deny business licenses to Chick-fil-A.

I’ve never eaten at a Chick-fil-A and don’t plan to, not because of any personal convictions but because I just don’t like fast food. I’ve never participated either a boycott nor a “buycott”, because it strikes me as a waste of emotional energy, but I do have some opinions on the matter.

My first observation is not original, but I think it bears repeating: Chick-fil-A is not being targeted for…

View original post 984 more words

Leave a Reply

